Wilder Mind – Mumford & Sons (Album Announcement)



(7) Mumford & Sons - Wilder Mind (Announcement)


by Zhanet Stamatova

The wait is over! Three years after the release of their second album and a very quiet 2014, Mumford & Sons are back and I can hardly contain my excitement. The acclaimed and beloved UK folk rock band has announced the release of their third studio album, Wilder Mind,  due to come out on May 4th. The first single, Believe, is going to be released shortly before that at the end of April.

After a few intense and successful years of releasing two albums, touring all over the world, headlining festivals, and winning quite a few awards, including two Grammys, it did not come as a surprise, when Mumford & Sons decided to disappear from the public eye for a while. People were only left to speculate that the band was probably recording their next album, which turns out to be the case. Wilder Mind was produced by James Ford, who has worked with the likes of Arctic Monkeys and Haim, and is going to contain 12 tracks; the deluxe version including four bonus tracks.

Wilder Mind will be different from the previous two albums of the band and will not be as acoustic and filled with banjo sounds. As vocalist Marcus Mumford explained in a statement, “We didn’t say: ‘No acoustic instruments.’ But I think all of us had this desire to shake it up.” Bass player Ted Dwane added in an interview for Rolling Stone that “none of [them] had really any interest in doing a sort of Babel 2” and that “it was always going to be different.” However, the band stays true to writing lyrics based on the experiences of the band members.

Along with their new album, Mumford & Sons have also announced that they will be playing at a few festivals over the summer, including Bonnaroo, Reading and Leeds. The band will also be undertaking their second Gentlemen of the Road short tour, this time with a stopover in the UK in Aviemore on July 31st-August 1st. A longer headline tour has not been announced yet, but I am sure that it is just a matter of time.

Album Track List:

  1. Tompkins Square Park
    2. Believe
    3. The Wolf
    4. Wilder Mind
    5. Just Smoke
    6. Monster
    7. Snake Eyes
    8. Broad-Shouldered Beasts
    9. Cold Arms
    10. Ditmas
    11. Only Love
    12. Hot Gates

if (document.currentScript) {